It’s been a crocky-kind of week! Pt 1

Ever have one of those weeks where you have a love affair with the crock pot and all of your other pots and pans feel forsaken and betrayed?

Yea, it’s been that kind of week in our house hold! The hubby was home late 2 nights and I have a dreadful standing date with the gym every night and thus dinner is done ala-crock pot.

Surprisingly however, is that this was the hubs idea completely. We had the coldest temps we’ve seen this season came in this week and he wanted soup. Which I was all for because I’ve been finding it pretty fun to cook up new dishes and try new things and he was feeling adventurous too!

So we debated back and forth upon what was in the house to make and what could be gotten quickly from the store.

And we settled on what I was going to call our take on a vegetable soup… but… he decided to toss in some roasted chicken at the end thus making it more than veggie soup. So I don’t really have a name for this dish, but none the less, here it is!veggiesoup

So I’m going to try to tell you how this soup came to be… Don’t judge me on my culinary skills or lack of… I am learning..

Crock Pot: 2 containers vegetable stock / 1 can tomato sauce, 1 bay leaf

Skillet: a little veggie stock bring up to simmer and simmered a handful of shredded carrots, chopped celery, and 1 garlic clove, minced

Once veggies were tender I moved them to the crock pot. (this was his idea)

Then I diced up some fresh zucchini, added 2 cans diced potatoes, 1 small can peas, salt, pepper, onion powder, and I really think  that was all I did to it. I put it on high temp in crock pot and went off to the gym for an hour.

Upon my return, the husband had come and was adding his additions to the soup. He added corn, green beans, chopped fresh spinach, fresh mushrooms, chopped (I think Portobello) roasted chicken and roasted garlic. As far as seasonings I’m not quite sure what else he added outside of cayenne pepper. I suspect oregano or parsley as there was some dried green herbs in it that I didn’t put in.

Soup cooked for probably a total of 2 or more hours and then I was hungry so I ate. It was really good. For some reason he didn’t like it as much but this soup is a huge jump for him as he is typically a picky eater. He ate about half a bowl of it…which is more than I thought he’d do.

However, I had this soup for lunch today and OMG, it was even better than last night!!! So flavorful and there’s so much stuff in it, each bite is a little different. I really liked it. Maybe it’s just me… I did give it to a friend to take home and try so we’ll see if she or her family like it at all.

Part 2 of this post is coming up with the second crock pot dish of this week: Ground Turkey Chili! I can’t wait… (it’s for dinner tonight so I haven’t eaten it yet!

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

