Making “THE” Decision part 1

I just wanted to take a moment to talk about the things surrounding my decision to see a personal trainer.

When I worked in the city, I had joined a big commercial gym. Lovely place, lots of features and classes and all sorts of methods of exercise and quite a wonderful facility. I think I went there a whole… three times maybe? I signed the big contract and paid the joining fee’s and the monthly dues. I had access to 2 free sessions with a “personal trainer”. This person was non-engaged and pretty much bored with their job. I know this because they took no personal interest in myself.. basically the two sessions were spent showing me the machines and how they work and creating a “routine” to do when I come in and showing me how to document it on a piece of paper to be kept in a file. (really, anyone could do that without instruction?)  If I wanted any more sessions with a trainer I would have to pay well over $60 an hour. I showed up a time or two after that on my own but never quite felt comfortable there. I’m not speaking badly of the place… It’s wonderful, really… but it wasn’t for me. I was clueless about exercise and even worse at pushing myself to the limit needed for true strength and growth. So I ended up paying a years worth of monthly dues to a place I never went back to. ugh!

A short time later I discovered that my local community center had a fitness room with included treadmills, ellipticals, stationary bikes, a weight machine that would target upper and lower body, and even a few free weights and padded mats. The best part? It’s only $10 a month and most of the time I am one of two people in the room. No joining fee, contract, and it’s literally 3 blocks from my house. The only downside is that it’s only open M-F from 12-7. I have a flexible and easy schedule and since it’s so close I have no problem working around their hours. And I even have an accountability partner who goes with me.

Sounds like a winning set up, right? Well, yes and no. Part of my situation didn’t change… I still was clueless about doing exercise and had no willpower at all. I would do the cardio machines until I didn’t feel like doing them anymore and then I’d quit. Something is better than nothing, but it’s still not enough to truly reach my goals. I was using these machines for months and not seeing any true results. I wasn’t gaining weight anymore… and yes, I’d lose a pound or two here or there but I really was just maintaining my current weight rather than really seeing change. I wanted to increase my endurance, I wanted to get stronger so that I could do more and regain flexibility and decrease pain I was having from weak muscles which resulted in bad posture, stiffness, etc. I had all of these wants and no idea how to achieve them.

It wasn’t long before I’d find the answer I was looking for… but then came the real “decisions”.

Stay tuned for part 2.

Leave a Reply

