Truth Is….

judge

I find this phrase very interesting. Really puts things into perspective doesn’t it? What do you see when you see an overweight person? Or drug addict? An alcoholic? Do you think, “man, I’m glad I don’t have their problems!” or “I don’t know why they do that, don’t they know how bad it is for them?”

I’m guilty of this. Plain and simple. I’d go as far as to say that we are all guilty of it. I am the first one to admit that I try to convince my loved ones to stop smoking. I will tell my brother or mom in a heart beat how bad it is for them, how it greatly increases their chances of cancer, heart disease, stroke. Yes, I tell them those things because I love them and truly do want them to stop smoking. But do I do it in a loving way? Or do I do it as if I am superior to them? Do I act like I’m noble because I never started smoking? Because the truth is, they have a smoking problem…. but I have a weight problem. Am I just as quick to rattle of the health risks of being overweight?

Anyone familiar with the scripture Matthew 7:3? These words came out of Jesus’ mouth… “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” Do we really understand the meaning of these words? To me it’s the same thing as what the image above is saying. We shouldn’t be so quick to point out everyone else’s faults and yet so blind to our own.

I don’t write this as to make anyone feel bad. Just something I’ve been thinking about. I’m trying to not judge people and even when people have obvious flaws, I’m trying to learn to see the good in them and not judge them. Just because someone doesn’t look a certain way, or they are battling an addiction of any kind… just know there is more to that person than you see and if you take a moment to get to know them you might just be surprised at what you find.

Leave a Reply

