MyFitness Pal …

For a few weeks now I haven’t been very disciplined with my diet. I’ve been “mindful” but I haven’t really controlled it very well. Well I got back to work this morning. My favorite method of watching what I eat is using the myfitnesspal app/website. It is so easy to track all of your intake during the day and so you are always aware of how many calories you are eating and how many are in each item you are considering eating. It really makes you think about what you are about to eat and I find it helps me plan my day and meals. When you sign up for it you fill out a short profile with the standard information, height, weight, sex, age, and how many pounds you want to lose per week up to two pounds (that is the most that is recommended to lose weight healthily.) The app will then calculate what your calorie goal is for each day. Then as you eat during the day you log it into the app. You can look it up in their database or you can barcode scan it with your phone and it’ll pop up the calorie information. You can change the serving size and it adjusts the calories accordingly. It is one of the best tools… and it is free!! The app is free and so it the website! It’s really cool because at the end of your day you “complete” your journal and the app tells you approximately how much you’ll weigh in 5 weeks if you keep having days like the one you just completed. Really motivates you to keep doing well. There is of course a whole social media aspect to it to where you can be friends with others, if you want to (not a requirement) you can also open your food journal for your friends to see, or you can keep it private. You can also lock it with a password so if you have an accountability buddy you want to be able to see your journal you just give them the password and they can get in, but not all of your friends can see it. You log in your weight (whenever you want) and it will post in the news feed that you lost weight..but it only posts that you LOST, it never gives anyone else what your total weight is. You can also log in your fitness time (30 mins treadmill, etc) and it will add the calories you earned from exercise to your daily total.

All in all it’s a very handy tool. I highly recommend it. If you don’t have a smart phone you can use it from the website, myfitnesspal.com. 🙂

So my first day being disciplined again was a little tough.

Image

I wasn’t really debating over a piece of pie or anything, but I would eat and in my gut know I was not hungry but mentally I just felt snacky all day…I wanted to munch ALL day long. I didn’t, thank goodness, but it sure did feel like a constant argument in my mind.

Tomorrow I plan to write about emotional eating and how stress effects our desire to eat. I’m just going to write from my personal experience, I do not pretend to be an expert. But I’ve had some added stress the past couple of days and I could tell how it affected my mood and desire to eat… but for now I must go to bed… so stay tuned! GOODNIGHT!

Leave a Reply

