And today I conquered…..

A tire and chains!!

tire1

So today was leg day at BUC. I pulled into the parking lot and saw the big tire and chains, and what seems to be an obstacle course and I secretly hoped it wasn’t for me! It’s amazing how quick we are to succumb to irrational fear. I seriously thought that I wouldn’t be able to do it or that I would fall down, pass out, trip or otherwise make myself look silly.

tire But as you can see… I did do it! I did four laps going forward (as seen in pic) and three laps pulling it backwards! It’s about 100 lbs in tire/chain! It actually felt great… and I’ll admit, I was a little sad I didn’t get to do my last lap (we ran out of time) but I am still pretty excited about the accomplishment. The point of this post is to talk about the fear we so quickly embrace and the thoughts that we entertain when faced with a new challenge.

This experience at BUC is showing me how ridiculous my fear is. Every time I think I can’t or won’t be able to do something, I show myself up. In fact, I would go so far to say that half of the battle at pushing through the work out is mental!! If you can get past the ideas of failure and just put that energy into pushing through the task at hand, you can’t go wrong!

I guess the point I want to convey to anyone who is listening to me ramble this evening is this: whatever your fear is… don’t let it control you. You can do whatever you make up your mind to do. Just do it. I’m not an associate of Nike…. but their motto is really plain and simple. And true. Just do it. Do the thing that you are afraid of. If you do fall, or fail, or the “worst” happens, it is still a lesson learned…and you at least walk away with the satisfaction of knowing you tried. A little secret I’ve learned: whatever the task is that you are facing… it’s not nearly as bad as you think it is or will be. We tend to over analyze and let fear take us too far and spend too much time considering all the things that can go wrong.

I hate the squat machine. It’s hard, and it shows. When I do it, I get out of breath, I get sweaty, I sometimes get dizzy and I dread the soreness that will follow. I have yet to complete 4 sets on it. BUT… the mere fact that it’s so hard and painful drives me. I get on it and I am determined… and I have not succeeded yet but that doesn’t mean I avoid leg day or I refuse to do it. One day I will be able to do it… it may take a while to get there but one day I will succeed. I realize it will always be hard… but it won’t beat me. And honestly, I believe that if I would stop being afraid of my legs giving out or afraid of the pain, I could probably get further.

So yes… I still have a lot to overcome. I do not pretend to be perfect. But I do believe I’m a work in progress. And I know that if I can overcome…. so can you…  Go after it… chances are you are going to look back and think how silly it was that you were afraid to begin with.

One thought on “And today I conquered…..

Leave a Reply

