What is love?

I think all too many times, the word love has lost all the power that is really behind it. It’s almost cliche, overused, and tossed around nonchalantly.

I was going through a time recently where I couldn’t understand why someone who is suppose to love me, didn’t express and show that love in the way that I wanted them to. We’ve probably all been there whether we recognize it or not. Far too often we internalize this issue and think “there must be something wrong with me that they don’t love me” During this difficult time, a very dear friend of mine said something extremely wise and deep and it made so much sense that I believe it truly changed my outlook on this matter.

I am going to try my best to set this up so that it makes sense to you in the way it did me.

Love originates with God. We were created by God for love. He wants to love us, he wants us to love him and love one another. But oh how the enemy has really distorted and perverted this very simple truth…and we believe the lies about love. That love has to be earned, or that love comes with strings attached…or that love is based upon your performance. But that’s not true.

It took me a long time to understand this love from God. I found myself trying to put God into the confines of my own understanding. Ever have someone tell you that they “loved” you and ten years later that person is no longer in your life? Whether you were old or young, that teaches you something about “love” with other humans. People can tell you they love you but when you are no longer meeting some need in their life, you are disposable. That’s not true love. I could sit here and go into the 1 Corinthians 13 chapter, often deemed as the Love chapter, but I imagine most of you have heard it.

4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant 5 or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; 6 it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 8 Love never ends.

When you start viewing love where it originates, you start to get the picture of what love means to God. What true, infalliable love really is. There’s nothing about those verses in Corinthians that is confusing…it’s pretty black and white to me…but we are no good at that kind of love…

Back to my dear friend… I was hurting over someones failure to love me in the way that they should.. and her words of wisdom were “They don’t know love like you know love. They haven’t grasped the love of God like you have, and therefore they do not know how to truly love you in the way that you want them too. They love you the best they know how.”

And I was like, wow. That’s it. Because I see love as God originally created it. Unending, unfailing…perfect love.

The inspiration behind this post I’m writing to you comes as an extension of church this morning. I witnessed people recieving a word from God today and I saw people really beginning to understand this idea: God loves you. And some of these people are people who are in church every Sunday. And I wonder…how many people haven’t truly grasped this concept?

I am just overflowing from the heart to tell you… whoever you are reading this right now that you aren’t looking at this blog by chance. Many of you are probably people who read for the fitness side of my blog. And that’s okay. But you are reading this specific post for a reason.

You need to know that God loves you. Not in a generic “oh he created us all so he loves us all” kind of way. I don’t say this lightly. He created you just the way you are. Regardless of what you’ve done in your life, regardless of what has happened to you, and quite honestly regardless of whether or not you believe in Him. He made you for love…and He loves you. He is not mad at you and he is not disappointed in you. You are his child and you are always welcome in his house. There are no strings attached. No matter what you do after you read this post, he desires to fellowship with you.

You have to come to know how much he loves you. Because once you grasp that …everything about your life will change.

Maybe you have some misconceptions about God and who he is. Maybe it’s stems from past hurts, or difficult times in your life. It’s understandable, I’ve been there… I wasn’t “raised” in church and I didn’t always know what I know now. I know pain, I know disappointment and I know abuse.  But I also know this: God doesn’t put harm on you, he doesn’t punish you, he isn’t out to reprimand you and beat you down. The things I experienced in my life weren’t God’s fault. There’s an enemy that’s out to steal, kill and destroy and he will stop at no ends to do just that. God promises that he makes all things new… and the person writing this to you now isn’t the same girl she was years ago when hell was breaking loose around her. Not to keep quoting songs or even scriptures, but he makes all things new and He redeems us…he brings beauty from pain. I have the heart I have now because I experienced the things I did. I know love because I know pain and I know loss. I can appreciate things deeper because I understand what it means to be without….

Regardless of what you’ve done and what’s been done to you…He created you, He see’s you, He knows you, and He loves you. You are important. You are valuable.

I’m attaching a favorite song of mine… it’s been done by several artists, but this is powerful… take a moment and just attempt to fathom how loved you are… I don’t want to get into long rants of theology and try to explain the ways of God and why we have pain and hurt in our lives. I have one message for this post and it’s really an attempt to get you to even consider how special you are, how loved you are and how important you are….so humor me for just a couple more minutes and listen to this song…

 

 

2 thoughts on “What is love?

  1. The safest, purest, most beautiful love we will ever know! As a minister’s daughter, I was raised to believe it, and I did. But to know God’s love now at 60 years of age, it is much richer and more clearly revealed to me each and every day. Thank you, Awesome Amy!

Leave a Reply

