Complacency…

**I wrote this a few weeks ago but for some reason, it never published… So here it is…**

dictionary.com defines the word complacency as:

“a feeling of quiet pleasure or security, often while unaware of some potential danger, defect, or the like; self-satisfaction or smug satisfaction with an existing situation, condition, etc.”

At first I did not like this definition. I even said to my husband, “that’s not right?”

But with more thought and consideration I’ve realized that it is right. See initially I would have defined complacency as “to feel comfortable and secure in a specific area(s) to be content with the present situation.

And while my definition still makes sense for the word, the more I think about the dictionary version, the more I realize it’s true… “a feeling of quiet pleasure or security, often unaware of potential danger”

We can’t get complacency confused with contentment, which I believe is what I was doing. Contentment is more along the lines of being okay with whatever the circumstances…almost in a state of peace.

But complacency is dangerous. To me, it’s the same thing as giving up and just keeping the status quo. It’s taking the easy road. Just coasting through life, never testing the waters, never pushing the limits, never fighting for what you want.

For some reason today after my workout at BUC, the word complacency kept coming to mind… I guess because this is the start of my 16th week with BUC and I half expect at some point that I’ll peak and the workouts won’t be as hard or they’ll be hard but not that hard and it will become monotonous. Now don’t get me wrong, I have no thoughts that I am “done” …I still have a long way to go.

And while my routine is the same… Tuesdays and Thursdays at 12… the work outs at BUC are anything but routine. It’s always different and it’s always challenging. Which is another reason to love the place. I don’t have to worry that it will become the same ol’ same ol’. It will never be a place of complacency. People talk about how nervous they are to start doing something like seeing a personal trainer… and I get that. I am nervous at 11:30 every Tuesday (esp leg day) and Thursday. Why? Because I know it’s going to be hard. Even 16 weeks into it I get nerves when it’s time to leave and head to Crestwood. Because I know it’s going to hurt, I’m going to sweat, I’m going to get fatigued. And I’m always nervous because I know there will be something new to do or something hard to do. If you are reading this and you are still teetering on whether or not to take charge of your health and maybe you have nerves and even knots in your stomach about taking that first step…there’s one thing I want to tell you… the satisfaction of doing it, the empowerment that comes from the achievement of just showing up, it all outweighs those nerves and questions.

You are in charge of your life. You have the power to change it. What are you waiting for? I don’t just mean with health or fitness… but with anything. Dreams, aspirations, whatever it is. You can make it happen… if you just believe you can. Don’t become complacent. In anything.  I pray that I am never complacent. There is always something to learn, something to improve, and something to achieve.

2 thoughts on “Complacency…

  1. Thank you Amy for the inspiration! I was complacent myself! I finally over came my fear of just CALLING BUC to set up my first appointment! With your encouraging words I did it! Now finishing my 4th week with BUC has been huge for me! I too still get nervous on leg days, my fear is I will throw up! YES throw up! Nearly did it the first week, but I made it through it! Again thank you for your words of encouragement. I look forward to your posts!!

Leave a Reply

