Happy 2014!

Hello! I hope everyone had fabulous holiday season…. I did not disappear or fall away from my goals over the past couple months… the holidays just brought busyness with family gatherings and events on top of extra work hours. I continued my workouts with Body Under Constructionย and tried to continue to eat well. It was hard with a lot of family gatherings with big meals. I made it through! I haven’t blogged in awhile, I try not to post unless I’m inspired in some way, as I really don’t want this to become a place where I just ramble all of the time. I actually have 2 posts in my drafts that I’ve written up and just didn’t feel good about posting so there they sit. They may be posted or they may sit there. Who knows!

Anyways, I have a lot to talk about today and that is what matters! I’ll start off with today’s good news! It was measure day… did you see how I called it good news? ๐Ÿ™‚

jan2014measure

So there we have it. First of all, my last measurement was Nov 14th. Pre-Thanksgiving/Christmas. So I managed to lose MORE weight this time than I had last time before the holidays. (last time I measured, I’d only lost 1 lb) Secondly…. I’ve finally dropped that first digit! Which is awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will never see that 3 again! And that 2 will eventually change as well! I am very excited and pleased that I didn’t come away from the holidays with a huge gain. That actually might be a first in several years.

I am more motivated not because this is an “amazing” loss (even though it is great) I’m just feeling great because this year is going to be awesome and the next time I measure (end of February sometime?) I expect an even greater change. I am utilizing so many tools and I have set myself up for nothing but success. And with it being a New Year, I’m just excited to raise the bar and push it even higher!

So let me tell you what new things I’ve got in store!

Santa brought me a lot of “fitness” stuff for Christmas…. and I’m so excited! I got a 15 lb and 25 lb kettle bell, 5 lb ankle/wrist weights, boxing gloves/mitts, and a Polar heart rate monitor/watch device. So my workouts outside of the training facility are going to be exciting and fun! Yes, I said fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t gotten to use the kettle bell or boxing gloves/ankle weights just yet, but before this week is over I hope to! I love the heart rate monitor watch. It’s really helpful to see my heart rate as I’m working out and it will help me push hard when I’m doing cardio without the trainers. I thought it would be uncomfortable but it’s not! It registered my BUC workout today at 500 calories burned! woohoo!

So that’s that… the other thing I am excited to tell you about is MEAL PLANNING! In the fall I had talked to Christy (trainer) and she told me about how she plans her lunches for the week on Sundays and gets everything cooked and stored. That way she can just grab it and go and she doesn’t have to worry about resorting to junk food because of busyness, etc. It’s a great idea and really works. I did it a couple times but again, the holidays and busyness, etc. So I decided that was one of my main goals for 2014 is to meal plan. Last Sunday I cooked up chicken breasts, brown rice, broccoli, and sauteed mushrooms for my lunches this week. It’s yummy and I’ve enjoyed it. I just happened to post a picture of it on Facebook and I’ve gotten so much feedback about it… not just in comments but face to face conversations with people wanting meal ideas and tips etc. And while at this moment I don’t have a lot of different meals in my repertoire I have decided that every week I am going to post here on the blog what I am making for my lunches (recipes and cooking tips included). This will motivate me to continue doing what I am doing, expand my menu choices (I’ll have to think up meals), and it will help others as well… since so many people are interested in this. I am looking forward to it! So stay tuned…and don’t forget to subscribe if you want these to come straight to your inbox!

I’m excited and motivated! This is going to be a great year!

I’m off to Zumba now! Yes, I’m crazy… this will be workout #2 for today! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Happy 2014!

  1. Do not forget February is a short month. Do not put too much stress upon yourself. You are doing such amazing things! You inspire those of us who know you and many who know us! ๐Ÿ‘

Leave a Reply

