Oven Baked Fajita’s -Sun Jan 12th

I first came across this recipe/idea on Facebook, so please don’t mistake this for something I invented. I just thought it was a good idea and a nice change up for what I’ve been doing. So here it is…

**side note, I doubled this so that I could get 5 lunches out of it! I only use about 1.5 lbs of chicken though. The rest I doubled.

Oven Baked Fajita’s (originated from Facebook)

Image

(mine really looked like this, this is the pic from Facebook though)

Ingredients:
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
2 Tbsp vegetable oil (* I used EVOO instead!)
2 tsp chili powder
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp seasoned salt
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies (Rotel)
1 medium onion, sliced
1/2 red bell pepper, cut into strips
1/2 green bell pepper, cut into strips

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place chicken strips in a greased 13×9 baking dish.
In a small bowl combine the oil, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, dried oregano, and salt.
Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and stir to coat.
Next add the tomatoes, peppers, and onions to the dish and stir to combine.
Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are done.

I basically followed this to a T. (only substituting the oil) Since I doubled it, I used 2 glass baking dishes. I let it cook for 25 mins and it was done. It’s really as easy as it looks. You spend more time chopping stuff than anything.

I put this recipe (doubled) into the myfitnesspal recipe creator and put 5 servings so that I could calculate how much each lunch would be. This alone comes out to 248 calories for each serving. I will be pairing it with about 1/2 cup of brown rice which comes out to 108 calories, so this total lunch the fajita mix and rice together come out to 356 calories. Not too shabby!!

Here is my final product:

Image

I don’t pretend to be an expert but I do try to have well rounded meals. We’ve got veggies, protein, and whole grain. And for only 356 calories, I think it’s a pretty good deal! 🙂

I’d love to hear your feedback, meal idea, suggestions for this meal, etc. I will let you guys know how I like this throughout the week.

Happy prepping!

2 thoughts on “Oven Baked Fajita’s -Sun Jan 12th

  1. Pingback: Tuna Salad -Sun Jan 19th | Finding Amy

  2. Pingback: January – review of meals | Finding Amy

Leave a Reply

