Breakfast! BONUS POST

What what? Here I am again! Having just posted my lunch plan for the week, I thought I would share with you what I plan to do for breakfast! Breakfast is my biggest struggle… I just haven’t found many good breakfasts that are easy to do. I don’t always wake up early enough to cook up a big ol deal and need something quick and simple. I’m not committing to posting breakfast every week like I am lunches… I am just sharing since I have one this week. 🙂

This is another recipe I found off SparkRecipes.

Coach Dean’s Blue Oatmeal

1 cup 100% natural whole grain oatmeal
2 tbsp ground flax seed
2 tsp brown sugar
1/2 tbsp unsweetened dry cocoa powder
1/2 cup blueberries (mine are frozen/unsweetened)
1.5 cup water.

Bring water to a boil in pan.
Meanwhile, mix all dry ingredients in bowl. Then add to boiling water.
Reduce heat to low and cook for 2-3 minutes, or until desired consistency.
Stir in still-frozen blueberries after cooking.

Spark recipes says the calorie count is 214.2 and that this serves two. So I will most likely half it for just me. – I haven’t tried it yet but we’ll see in the a.m. I know I’ve read and heard that oatmeal is a good breakfast food because it’s filling and high in fiber so it helps when trying to lose weight. Blueberries are an excellent anti-oxident fruit… not sure why this recipe wants them frozen… but none the less.
It could probably could be made healthier if you don’t use brown sugar and the cocoa powder. But I’m going to try it as is and then see what I can do to improve it.

Anyone have any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Breakfast! BONUS POST

    • Thank you! 🙂 I didn’t like this oatmeal recipe very much …but I have a hard time eating oatmeal and not using a lot of sugar/butter so I am still getting used to it. You might like it though. Its an easy recipe. I find my taste is changing as I eat better. Thanks for your encouragement. I am motivated by all of the support!

  1. Pingback: January – review of meals | Finding Amy

Leave a Reply

