Tuna Salad -Sun Jan 19th

So after eating spicy Mexican food all last week I was looking for something a little cooler this week. I downloaded an app called “SparkRecipes” because I had pretty much wore out AllRecipes and was looking for fresh ideas. I really like the layout of Spark Recipes because it is visibly appealing and the nutrition facts are right there.

So I went out on a limb with this weeks recipe. I have to admit, I was very unsure about it. It’s a tuna salad… but it doesn’t have your traditional ingredients in it… well it does in a way… but… you’ll see what I mean…

Here we go…

Tuna Salad

tuna_11 can albacore tuna (in water)
2/3 cup non-fat cottage cheese
4 tbs plain low-fat yogurt
1/4 small red onion, finely chopped
1 stalk celery, finely chopped
1 tsp Dijon mustard (missing from pic)
Splash of lemon juice
Pinch or two of dill

Directions: Mix it all in a bowl!

Easy huh? So to make a week’s worth of lunches, I tripled this recipe. That’s because the creator of this recipe had a note that she makes all her lunches for work and that tripled this recipe will make 6 sandwiches.

I’m not sure how much tuna she puts on one sandwich but my bowl full looks like it’d make more than 6 sandwiches.  I don’t know. I put this “tripled” into myfitnesspal as a recipe and put it in as serving 5 people (since I’m dividing it into 5 lunches) and it came out to 186 calories per serving. Not too bad, eh? Of course if you eat it on bread or crackers you will want to factor that in to your calorie count too. I have some whole grain sandwich thins that I got from Kroger that I may eat it with. I haven’t decided if I even need to eat the tuna on anything… might just eat it as is….

I just want to say that I was very skeptical about using cottage cheese and low-fat yogurt in tuna fish. I know that using yogurt is a common swap for mayo in many dishes but it’s not something I’ve done before…and cottage cheese? To me that needs a tomato or some fruit and to be eaten as a snack! I wasn’t sure about lemon juice and dill either… Typically my tuna (in the past) would have a couple tbs of mayo, a squirt of mustard… salt and pepper, etc. So I was very unsure about this recipe. After I mixed it up really well, I tasted it… seriously? It’s actually pretty good and I bet it’s going to be better tomorrow after it sits in the fridge all night and the flavors meld together. It really just tasted like tuna salad. I couldn’t distinguish yogurt or cottage cheese (taste wise, you can see the cottage cheese if you look closely) I did salt and pepper it some just to add/brighten it  up a tad.

tuna_2

But that is it! I’m excited.. it will be something different and new! By the way, I had (oven baked fajita’s) last week …and I loved it every day…. It’s definitely a permanent recipe in my book!

Happy prepping everyone! Here’s to a great week of good nutrition and lots of exercise!

3 thoughts on “Tuna Salad -Sun Jan 19th

  1. This sounds wonderful; in fact I am going to try it now. I will eat with celery and carrots as I need crunch and do not do crackers any more. Very little white in my diet. I will do the whole grain buns that you mentioned on occasion, but none here now. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Pingback: January – review of meals | Finding Amy

Leave a Reply

