Whole wheat wrap, chicken & vegs with kale chips -Sun Jan 26th

So I am kinda making up my own thing this week. I browsed and browsed for something similar that I could follow and couldn’t quite come up with something I’d want and or wasn’t too complicated. I had already decided that I wanted to do a wrap of some kind but there are a thousand types of wraps out on the web and so I figured I’d might as well make it a thousand and one.

I do need to remind you that I am learning as I go. I don’t pretend to have it all figured out and I am almost positive that my recipes and meals can be improved upon. I am just trying new things and adjusting as I go.

I don’t have any pictures for you yet because this will be something I’ll have to take after I assemble at lunch time tomorrow. But I will give you the outline of what I am going for…

I have whole wheat tortillas… I was not super enthused about my choices of “wraps” at Wal-mart and we were shopping in a hurry ..but this is a good lessen to take from me… don’t shop in a hurry and go to more stores if you have to. But this is where I am at this week. I am just being real with you. πŸ™‚

Okay, so the whole wheat tortilla’s are what I plan to “wrap” with. 1 tortilla is 170 calories.
I have “shredded” chicken that I cooked earlier. I just boiled it. I’m not exactly sure how much I plan to put in each wrap but probably between 3-4 oz each. I have sliced up (peeled) cucumber and sliced tomatoes. I also bought an organic “spring” mix of baby spinach and other greens.

I debated a long time on some sort of dairy… whether to go with cheese or something else.. or try something like hummus. I was going to go the hummus route but once again, last minute shopping at Wal-mart left me with few options and I couldn’t find a flavor to go with what I have going on. So I got some feta cheese..which 1/4th cup is 80 calories but feta cheese is one that very little goes a long way…so I probably won’t eat a full serving at once. My other option if I don’t go the feta route, I got some Laughing Cow cream cheese spread which is a garden vegetable flavor. 1 serving of it is 45 calories.

So….
Screenshot_2014-02-03-22-20-22-11 tortilla (170 cals)
3-4 oz shredded chicken (120-180 cals)
1/4 cup feta cheese (80 cals) or 1 wedge laughing cow cream cheese garden vegetable flavor (45 cals)
1/4 cup cucumber (4 cals)
2-3 thin sliced tomato (3-5 cals)
1 cup Baby spring mix (spinach, etc) (6-7 calories)
…. So somewhere between 380-400 calories depending on your serving sizes of each ingredient.

I also made kale chips for the first time which is pretty easy to do though I’m not quite sure how much I’ll like them. They aren’t bad… they are just different. πŸ™‚

Preheat oven to 350
1 bunch of kale -washed dried, torn off stems into 1-2 inch leaves
approx 2 tbs a healthy oil… I used extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt to taste…(after baking)

Spread kale pieces onto parchment paper on a baking sheet. Make sure they are not on top of each other and laying fairly flat. Put in oven for approximately 7 minutes… adjust if you need based on your oven. My original instructions suggested 10 mins but my first batch was bitter and a bit brown. So I went down to 7 minutes and they were just right. Sprinkle with sea salt once they come out of the oven. I’m storing mine in an air tight container on the counter.

My plan is to have the wrap with kale chips for lunch this week. πŸ™‚

That’s it for now. I must go. My four legged baby is insisting to be held which makes typing super difficult. I’ll follow up with pictures and my thoughts after I eat tomorrow.

Happy prepping!

One thought on “Whole wheat wrap, chicken & vegs with kale chips -Sun Jan 26th

  1. Pingback: January – review of meals | Finding Amy

Leave a Reply

