January – review of meals

I decided I would do a quick review of the recipes and meals I made in January and tell you what I liked and didn’t like. I would love your feed back… any and all feedback is greatly welcomed! I am not a pro… I am a regular girl, no special cooking skills to speak of…trying to learn new recipes and better ways of preparing food at the same time planning my meals and sharing the results. Despite what anyone may think, I actually do this blog more for my own sake than anything but I love hearing that it is inspiring and encouraging others. We learn and grow from each other so any of my readers are free to comment and tell me what they think, tips, tricks, and advice.

So in January I made oven baked fajitas, “skinny” tuna salad, and a chicken veggie wrap. Two bonus items I made was an oatmeal breakfast dish and kale chips.

I was super excited about the oven baked fajitas. I really liked them and it was a so easy to do! It was a bit spicy and got to be a tad overwhelming by the end of the week.. just from eating a spicy Mexican dish every day for lunch. Not to mention that I had a chicken tortilla soup that week for dinner that was a tad spicy as well. So next time I’ll probably tone down the cayenne pepper some and eat milder dinners and maybe my digestive tract won’t hate me as much. 🙂 but for what really counts… it was very tasty, easy to make and pretty “clean” I believe. Click link for more details on that recipe.

The tuna salad was really good as well. A little more hands on in preparation for slicing, dicing, measuring and mixing but it was well worth it. I learned something new with this dish and it is the flexibility of using cottage cheese and plain non-fat yogurt in place of mayonnaise, etc. I really expected not to like this dish at all so I was pleasantly surprised…..if you are a tuna fan I really encourage you to try this dish. Like my hubby says.. “don’t knock it until you try it!”

So the oatmeal dish I posted as a breakfast was not something I liked. I don’t know what it is, I am still struggling with coming up with a oatmeal breakfast dish that I will eat and enjoy. The one I posted (see link above) was no different. It tasted bitter…bland…and just… not good. I’d be interested to hear if any of you have oatmeal dishes that are good or have good breakfast ideas… because breakfast is a struggle for me.

And that leaves us with last weeks post, which was a chicken wrap with vegetables and kale chips. The wrap was really good. I loved it.. I know that recipe/idea can be improved upon because I didn’t have the greatest “wrap” and I couldn’t find a hummus that I wanted to try. It was a good dish and definitely something I will make again.

The kale chips did not work out for me. I have never made them before so this was a test run. I may try again and tweak some things. They were crispy right out of the oven and tasted okay.. definitely something that I would have to get used to..but I could see the appeal. I expected that they would last throughout the week but they didn’t. The next day they had wilted down some. They were still some what crispy but had become very chewy and seemed to me the bitterness was stronger. I ate a few of them but then had to toss them. The concept with this lunch was sort of like a sandwich and chips. I did a wrap instead and the chips were to be kale chips. It was a nice idea…but you win some and you lose some. It’s all a part of the learning experience and the journey. 🙂

So we’re into February now! I don’t know about the rest of you, I can’t wait for spring. I don’t mind the winter but we’ve had a lot of snow here in the Ohio Valley, along with arctic temperatures and I’m over it! I am ready for spring and summer where I can get outside for some exercise and also fire up the grill! But the part I am most anxious about is all of the farmer’s markets!! You just can’t beat fresh produce!

Somewhere sunny and 75 is what I need…. 🙂

One thought on “January – review of meals

  1. Amy, I have not tried it yet, but saw a recipe last week to use whole spinach leaves instead of kale for the chips. The preparation was the same. Personally, I like spinach lots better than kale so want to try it! Sounds much better to me.

Leave a Reply

