Mexican Lettuce Wraps – Sun Feb 16th

This is another recipe that was passed on to me. 🙂 I love trying new things… and this time I wanted to do a lettuce wrap. Since I can’t seem to ever find the pita’s/wraps the I want… I figured why not nix them all together… My friend Jennifer seems to have the best recipes or she seems to always suggest stuff that is right on what I was thinking of doing. Fun!

So here we have it, my lunch for this week…

Mexican Lettuce Wraps
IMG_20140217_133101_319
1 cup black beans, rinsed
1 cup pinto beans, rinsed
1 small tomato, diced
1/2 small avocado, diced
1/2 cup frozen corn, thawed
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, thawed
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
Shredded cheese (optional)
Salsa
Stir together beans, corn, tomato, avocado, cilantro, lemon juice and chili powder.
Spoon into lettuce leaf top with cheese and salsa (if desired.)
Pretty good! I should also add to salt and pepper to taste. And let me just say, I love cilantro! I hear more often of people who hate cilantro and I am like what!? To me it’s not a good Mexican dish without some cilantro mixed up in it…. if you feel this way, feel free to add more than what it calls for. 🙂
I spooned about 1/4 cup of the mix into a large lettuce leaf and then I added the salsa and a little bit of shredded cheese…and rolled it up like I would a tortilla…IMG_20140217_133511_983
I thought it’d be harder to handle than it was. I was expecting it to be flimsy and not easy to hold together, but it’s not. It holds together just fine. You could pair it with some healthy black bean tortilla chips… homemade salsa …etc.
Yummmmmy 🙂
If you have any recipes you think I would like feel free to send them to me! I am always looking for new things to try and keeping it healthy as possible! I’d love to hear from you! email: amyount@gmail.com
Happy prepping!
Leave a Reply

