Hello!!!

I just thought I’d drop in for a moment to chat and not talk about food. 🙂

Hope everyone is having a wonderful 2014 so far… February has been one HECTIC month for me work-wise. So many changes going on and tons of overtime and things to learn… I get a headache just thinking about it! For the most part the added stress hasn’t deterred me too much. I had a rough week the first week it all hit us. I had to cancel my workout sessions because there were just NOT enough hours in the day to get everything done…and that week was hard nutritionally. I am telling you, getting busy and running all the time partially how I got in this position of being over weight and I can see why. You get busy, you eat quick and easy foods, you lose sleep, you neglect your workouts, etc. It can spiral out of control really fast. Thankfully for me it was just a low week and I picked right back up the following week. I think one of the keys to success, or to my success to this point, is being forgiving when you get side-tracked. By forgiving I mean you brush it off and you move on, try to learn a lesson from it and analyze what you could do better. Before, I would have a bad week and it’d turn into a bad couple of weeks, then months…and you know the rest. Now I’ve stopped beating myself up over it. I take responsibility for my actions but I don’t wallow in self-pity and guilt. I learned something duuring that bad week and that is that I can be a stress-eater… I get stressed and I find myself resorting to food, particularly junk food, not just because I am rushed and not prepared, but because I am trying to cope or deal with the stress…through eating. I don’t know where I picked that up and exactly when I started doing it but I was quick to realize all of those feelings and my actions. So hopefully, next time I will be able to recognize it and prevent it from getting out of hand. That’s what it’s all about folks~ it’s a process, it’s a journey, and you have to learn as you go. Don’t be afraid to face those feelings and look at the truth… even if you don’t like what you see. It is within you to change those things and grow from every failure, struggle and set-back. To me that is a tell-tale sign that my mentality about this whole thing has changed. I have learned that this change is about life-style changing and as long as I am taking steps forward 90% of the time then it’s not the end of the world if I have moments of weaknesses. We are human and to expect perfection from ourselves is a standard we’ll never meet.

I will also say that I know my mentality has changed when my legs are SCREAMING in soreness and I get up and go to Zumba anyways. I was laying in the floor last night, stretching my back and playing with Zoe and my legs and shoulders are so sore and 6:30 was approaching and I was just like, “I do not want to go.” I thought of a thousand reasons not to. And went around in circles with myself… “Tracy isn’t going” “yea but I told Katie I would” “but my legs are really sore, they should probably rest” “exercising them would loosen them and make them feel better” “I should stay home and clean up, cook dinner for Troy when he gets home.”  And round and round I went… but in the end I reminded myself to hush up the excuses and go get it done. I felt so good afterwards, and as much as working out makes me feel better, I was more excited that I overcame the inner voice and excuses and pushed through it. That just stands out to me as one of those little triumphs that will ultimately lead me to success.

Speaking of success… it’s so funny how you view yourself vs how others view you. This past week I’ve been enamored with compliments after compliments. When I look at myself~ I see what’s left to do…and very little change. But then people tell me everywhere I go how different I’m looking and how they can tell… and I look at myself and think they are crazy and they are just being nice. But considering it’s such a wide variety of people (church, work, random Facebook peeps) I realize that not everyone is just “being” nice. It’s really motivating to hear it…and rewarding to know that even though I don’t see it the same as everyone else does, something must be changing. And it’s uplifting to know… it fuels the drive. Not because I need compliments or people to tell me I look good, quite frankly, I hate attention, so no, that’s not it. It is just reassuring that all this soreness and hard work is making a difference, and for me that difference is my health. I just strive to be healthy.

Anyways, those are the thoughts floating around my head this evening. I just took a stroll through some old photos and am appalled at where I started… Just helped me see that I have come a long way… I am focused on the journey ahead  and I appreciate where I am but I also look forward to where I am going. 🙂

I just decided I will share with you one of those photos…which isn’t an easy thing but it’s a part of this process and so I am going to give you a glimpse of my starting point and one day soon I’ll post a pic of where I am now.

Image

 

 

 

Nevermind me ( :/ ) How cute is my nephew and how silly is my sister? LOL

Appreciate the journey…. it’s a beautiful thing overcoming adversity and reclaiming your life. It doesn’t happen overnight but it is very much worth the daily grind of getting there. 🙂

Good night my friends.

 

 

p.s. Featurette coming soon, high-lighting my dear friend with MS and her journey…stay tuned, I promise it’s coming! ❤

One thought on “Hello!!!

  1. Thank you for posting Amy. You are right on every level. I hope that you soon will be able to look in the mirror and see what Jesus sees: a lovely child of His that He is so proud of. We are too! May God continue to bless you during this journey. But just remember this is a journey of life and will not end when you hit X pounds, but a journey of health.

Leave a Reply

