Taco Chicken Bowl – Feb 23rd

This is a recipe I pinned off pinterest a while ago and thought I’d give it a go this week…. mainly because I already had the majority of the ingredients here already which made my grocery shopping a lot easier! One of the most useful and convenient things we do when meal planning is taking stock of what is in the freezer/pantry/fridge and building menus around ingredients on-hand. This is wise financially as well… 🙂

So this week I bring you…. Taco Chicken Bowls…. for the website that this originated on click here.

1.5 lbs chicken breasts
1 (16 oz) jar of salsa
1 (15 oz) can black beans
8 oz frozen corn
1 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tbsp cumin
1/2 tbsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp salt
cracked black pepper to taste
2 cups dry rice (brown)
garnish with shredded cheese and cilantro (optional)

tacobowlI put the chicken breasts in the crock pot, the jar of salsa, corn, beans, seasonings. Add about 1/4 cup of water just for good measure. Stir everything together but make sure chicken stays towards bottom of crock pot. Now the original recipe said to cook for 8 hours on low. However, I didn’t have that kind of time since I didn’t get started with my prep until 5:30 pm Sunday night. So I found a conversion chart for cooking on high instead of low and that was 4 hours. So 8 hours on low or 4 hours on high.  Once finished, I took a butter knife and a fork and shredded the chicken up and stirred it all together.

Then I cooked up some brown rice… and then assembled them into my bowls for the week. About 1/4 cup brown rice then topped with chicken mixture…and there ya have it. I went ahead and sprinkled chopped cilantro on top so that I wouldn’t have to fool with that during my lunch break and it was finished. You can add shredded cheese on top if you desire and you could even add some diced avocado.

I used a mild salsa so this dish is not spicy. Which normally I would want spicy but since it’s a 5 day dish, I think going milder is better. Anyways… I already had the rice, chicken, beans and spices on hand so all I had to get was salsa.

It’s pretty tasty! This would be good as a taco night, taco salad, etc. The fun thing about dishes like these is they can be easily modified to your tastes and used in different ways!

Preparation = Success. 🙂

 

One thought on “Taco Chicken Bowl – Feb 23rd

  1. I have found that I can stir fry a little cabbage and use instead of rice for less calories and carbs and if I stir fried lightly I enjoy the crunch and taste better than the rice.

Leave a Reply

